DINO SWW race

IMAG1263

I had not done any XC races this year. There were a few that was interested in doing and something else conflicted on the calendar or I just couldn’t get myself to make the drive. This race was the last one in the DINO series and there was going to be a few teammates there. I also had someone to share the ride with me so that always makes it easier to go. Before this race I had not been on my mtb since the Mohican. I figured I might be a little rusty, but it didn’t really matter as I was not worried about winning it or anything. But, I have put in some good miles and figured I would not be too bad.

The weekend didn’t start off too well for making a good showing at the bike race. There was a soccer game on Saturday in the middle of the afternoon. I sat in the sun baking for two games. This was not a good way to stay hydrated. After the games we went to the next town’s festival to see a few people and get a bite to eat. I figured what could a beer or two hurt. Well, several beers and hours later we got home a lot later than I wanted. Good thing I had most of my stuff ready.

Sunday morning came around real early. It was a cool morning and the fog was pretty thick. I had the top down on the jeep so it was a little on the cool side in some sections. But, it was still a nice drive and had some good company to help it go by pretty fast. The sun came out right before we got there and really warmed things up. I set the canopy up and started to get ready for the race, signed up and went for a little warm up ride. It was pretty warm by then and I could feel the effects of the sun and beer that I experienced the day before.

Before I knew it I was running late to the starting line. Well, maybe not that late, but it was getting close. I was probably there before Bob rolled in to the parking lot. LOL Just kidding Bob, well kind of. The groups in front started taking off. I didn’t want on the first row and figured I would do what felt good and try to not worry about everyone else. Sometimes that is easier said than done. We took off across the field going faster than I was ready to do. I didn’t want to completely red line it already and tried to ride at a pace that worked for me. I backed it off a little and tried to keep in contact to the group in front of me. I was doing a pretty good job for a little while. There started to be a gap in front of the guy right in front of me. I asked and tried to get around, but they didn’t really let that happen.

I was not riding how I should have and then when we hit the berm section I was a little more shaky than I normally would be. The time off of the bike and not really having trail like that around here to ride made me not trust the front wheel as much as I should have. I was still rolling pretty well, but the guy in front of me pulled away. I rode really well in the second half of the lap. The tighter stuff and the section that was muddy was more in my wheel house. I also cruised down the levee at a really good pace. I am sure all of the road miles helped.

I maintained a pretty steady pace for the next two laps. I passed some people and was passed by a couple. It was really hard to figure out what age group all the people around you were in so I was not sure where I was, but felt pretty good about it. I was riding really strong considering everything. The only thing that I was a little slow on was the bigger climbs. SWW has a couple hills that are fairly good sized. I didn’t have any issue climbing them, I just didn’t climb as fast as I needed too. I am sure the previous day’s activities were part of that, but I am just not where I want to be with my climbing. I really need to improve that.

I ended up finishing 30th overall and 11th in the 40-49 class. I am pretty happy with that. I always would like to finish farther up, but I really can’t expect to with out putting more effort in. Even with all the things I did to keep from being fast, I was less than 8 min. off from being on the podium for age group. Maybe next year I will be able to get a little closer. My main focus is not XC racing, but if I do better at the races that I would like to do well in, then it would have to move me up the finisher list for XC races too. Maybe next time.

This entry was posted in Bikes, DINO, Dino Series, Mountain Biking, Racing, Team Adventures. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to DINO SWW race

  1. bentcrank says:

    Reblogged this on Team Adventures.

  2. Pingback: Times fun when your having flies | Bentcrank's Blog

Leave a Reply

