2015 has come and gone

 

12631316_10208869589565344_3397472168195977491_n

I seem to be a little late in writing this, but better late than never. I think overall that 2015 was a good year for me. I didn’t start the year off too strong, but found a way to turn it around and finish strong. The beginning of the year found me having a lot of calendar conflicts that kept me from getting very many miles in except for the Florida trip. Even that trip could have had more miles if I would have been in a little better shape before hand. I did get some good mtb miles in for the early spring/summer and ended up with a lot more gravel/road miles toward the end of the season.

11022634_10207124944990320_580834541628024559_o

It took me most of the year to match the total miles for the month of February, but that is hard to compare apples to apples. The trail miles usually don’t add up as fast as road miles do and Florida in February for training camp is hard to beat. If I look at hours on the bike I did have several months that fell in line. Even with the slow start of the year and all the off road miles added in I still ended up with my most miles in one year since I have been tracking them. I ended up with 2,750 miles. I know that is not a lot for some people, but for me it was a pretty high number. It makes me wonder what I would end up with if I could just have a better first part of the season.

10511300_10208602829416507_2878497407908290924_n

So, the miles were good for the year and I managed to bring the weight down again at least for a while, but the part that seemed to miss out was the actual racing. I did some racing, but it felt like a lot less than previous years. There were a lot of rescheduling because of weather and that made a lot more overlaps in my calendar for races and soccer schedules. But, I feel like I did pretty well in the races I did make. Not necessarily podium type performances, but overall good showings for me. I rode my SS for the Dino race at Ferdinand and was very happy with how strong I rode. One of my better finishes at that venue. I also broke the elusive 5 hour mark for the Gravel Grovel in a year that had some of the most epic conditions to date.

12345639_10208430957199809_6725409723685114503_n

I finished the year strong and have started this year off pretty well. I put in more miles in January than I did in January, March, April and May of last year. We are headed back to Florida in a couple weeks and I am hopeful to put in a few century’s down there. Shortly after that I will be making a trip to Pisgah to get some good climbing work out in. I am going to need all the help I can get for the season. I already have quite a bit on my plate. I have signed up for the Big Frog 65 and the Mohican 100k. I don’t plan on missing out on the Gravel Grovel and have a couple other gravel races on my radar. I am also thinking about finally trying out the 6 hour mtb race series and making as many XC races as I can work in.

11217681_10207674397686294_4815309982013383081_n

So, with all that said, I had a great 2015 season and need to follow it up with an even better 2016 season. Maybe I will actually be able to be fast this year or at least fast for what I have been used to. I also want to thank everyone who helps make the year as good as it is. First of all my wife for allowing me to put the time in on the bike. Phil and Adventures Recreation and Gear for giving the best shop support that I could ever hope to receive. Honey Stinger and Tailwind Nutrition for keeping me fueled for all the miles. ESI grips for making the most amazing grips that I have ever used. Swiftwick for making socks that keep my feet happy hour after hour while turning pedals. Stan’s No Tubes for keeping me rolling in all kinds of conditions on the best wheels I have ever been on and without flats. SKS for all the great products that I rely on if issues happen. Mill House Restaurant for keeping me filled up and Basket Case Brewing for some tasty recovery beverages. But most of all I need to thank Brian Tuell for all the great rides together and pushing me to be a better cyclist. I would not be able to take advantage of all the help I mentioned above if it was not for your help and friendship to get me out the door and on the bike. Here’s to a lot more good times this year!!

12507407_1034381309916448_7643749661690234853_n

This entry was posted in Basket Case, Bikes, DINO, Dino Series, Gravel, Gravel Grovel, Mountain Biking, mtb, Racing, racing, Road Biking, Team Adventures and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 2015 has come and gone

  1. bentcrank says:

    Reblogged this on teamadventuresmtb.

Leave a Reply

