What day is it?

Wow, it has been a while since I have posted anything. I have now done 2 races since my last post. First I made the trip to Brown County for the Dino race and then I just raced yesterday at French Lick. I don’t have a lot of good things to say about either race as far as my riding goes. I have not been riding much for a while now. I keep trying to get out more and catch up on how well I should be riding, but work and things just keep getting in the way.

I thought I rode fairly good at BCSP, but that road start was way too slow for me. It is not good starting a race all the way off the back before we even get in to the woods. I am not complaining about how the race started, just how I rode the start of the race. There seems to be several people that are complaining about the road start, but it is a good way to break everyone up. I am just not riding strong enough to keep up with everyone. I felt fairly good about how I rode the trail sections, but by that time it was too late for me to make up enough ground. I ended up 98th place over all and 25th in my age group.

The French Lick race went a little better for me, but not a lot. I had only rode one time in the two weeks between the BCSP race and the French Lick race. The problem with that is that ride was two day’s before the race. I have been working way too much and out of town for work for 5 of those days. I ended up 62nd over all and 15th in class. Last year I was 23rd overall, but I was only 1:50 slower this year. Last year I felt like I rode my best race in years. Hard to believe there is only 2 minute between my best race in years to just an ok ride.

I really hope to get on the bike more, but I am sure it will not be enough to make up the difference that I would like. I know it is not too late to get faster yet this year, but I am running out of time.

This entry was posted in Bikes, Mountain Biking, Racing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

