Back in the saddle

I have had plenty of time to work on bikes over the last few weeks, but I didn’t do near what I wanted to do. The only thing I got done was finishing up the old Misfit and setting it up as a 1×9. The test ride around in the drive way had me second guessing my thoughts about gears. Nothing but miss shifts and skipping. A little work and I had it working better and I hoped it was worthy of some trail time.

So, today I headed to French Lick to test it out. It was exactly 5 weeks from my last ride. I ran in to Nick, Steve and Todd and decided to follow them from the start. I knew how fast everyone was and figured I would not have the legs to keep up. I did hold my ground longer than I thought, but it was not very far before they were pulling away. I settled down to my own pace and continued on. My original plan was to do a small loop and see how I was feeling. When I got to the turn off, I just decided to do a big loop and see how it went.

I was feeling rusty and my handling skills were not any better. I could really tell the difference in the corners from my 80mm fork to this 100mm fork. I was hanging in there, but it would not have shocked me at all to slide out on a corner. When I came up to the waterfall, I could tell someone had been doing some rock work and it was looking good. The rocks were a little on the wet side and when I was trying to climb that section the back wheel spun out. When I went to put my foot down, it happened to land in a hole that was much lower than the wheels. There was also a bigger rock on the other side of that hole and when my leg it that it was all down hill. My hand landed in a mud puddle. As I was hitting the ground, I saw the one lens of my glasses fall to the ground. I gathered myself up and started to look for the lens, but I had no luck. So, if you happen to find a glasses lens laying on the ground around the waterfall, I know who’s it is. The good thing about this is that it was my old glasses and not my new ones. Now I really need to get those riding glasses I have been wanting to get.

Over all it was a good ride. I was not as strong as I had hoped, but it was not that bad. I just hope that I can get back in to the shape I was before with as little time as possible. There are some races coming up that I hope to hit. I just need to keep riding as much as I can and hope I can get there. Only time will tell . Hope to see you on the trail soon.

This entry was posted in Bikes, Mountain Biking. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Back in the saddle

  1. Jay says:

    See what happens when you let multiple gears back into your life?

Leave a Reply

