getting some more trail

After the Pisgah trip, I have made it out to Ferdinand for two different rides. I am trying to get some miles back in my legs before the Double Dare weekend. I have lost a lot that I had earlier this year, but I think I can still be fairly good with just a little help. I know that we are not going to be real contenders, but I just want to be in good enough shape to be able to put in some good rides for back to back days.

I have been playing with a new toy for the last few rides. I am still working out some bugs and quirks, but so far it seems to be working as good as I expected. I have a Garmin 301 GPS unit that mounts on to the bike. It is a little bigger then the newer units, but I think I can live with what is available. I have had some hit and miss spots on getting weak satellite signals. Saturday I did 2 laps at Ferdinand and one lap worked real well and the next had a hand full of spots that it said I  had a weak signal. Here is a sample of Saturday’s ride specs.

http://connect.garmin.com:80/activity/embed/120002195

I need to work on remembering to wear my heart rate strap to get a little more info, but I am not too worried about it. I do notice that the elevation gain seems to be a little less then my other two computers, but hard telling what one is correct.

One thing I do need to work on is my bike. It has seen a lot of abuse over the last two weeks and I would not be shocked if something would break. It is needed to tear it all the way down and even replace a few parts in the next 2 weeks. I am sure it will be good enough by then, but if not, I can only hope I can fix it.

This entry was posted in Bikes, Mountain Biking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

