A little of this and a little of that

I am just catching up on a few things since I have not been riding. I did some bike maintenance trying to get all of my bikes rolling. I had already put the new cranks on the SS before the last KY race, but I had yet to put the set on the Fuji. I have two Pisgah trips coming up and needed to get it rolling. The install was easy and I made short work of re-adjusting the shifting. I have yet to test it, but I hope it works correctly. I have to admit the Fuji is looking good. The new wheels, cranks and seat give it just a little bit different look and I think it is for the better.

Last post I believe I commented on fixing the 2 wheels from leaking tubeless. Well, they were easy enough to get mounted up and not leaking, but neither one actually held air for a long time. I cleaned out the back wheel from the Fuji and put in a tube. I am done messing with that tire and will not try again until it is replaced. The front tire on the SS always mounts up so well and I just figured that it needed more sealant, but it still went flat. I can air it up, but I get leaks out of the spokes and stuff on the inside. So, my next effort is to put more tape on the rim and see if that helps. I don’t know why it would work for so long and then just decide to not work anymore. If that does not work, then it will be back to a tube until I get a new tire for that wheel.

This week I got a new DVD in the mail. I had wanted it for a while, but finally took the time to order it. The day it came in, I had to throw it in the player right away and watched Ride the Divide. I was not sure how it would be covered and in the early part, I thought it was moving too fast and missing out on stuff, but as it continued it ended up doing a real good job of covering the race. I guess when the race is going to last for a few weeks you can’t spend too much time on each day.

I was very impressed with how well it tried to let the watcher understand the highs and lows that a person goes threw in a race like this. I have had some of that myself, but at a much smaller level since I was not riding more then 1 day in a row. I admit that it even had me fighting a tear watching someone call home to tell them they are dropping out. Some would have a hard time realizing just how hard it is to give up after putting in that much effort. It may seem like the easy thing to do, but like the one said, one bus ride home he would be very upset with himself for dropping out. It is funny how quick the pain can fade away and start to second guess yourself on the decisions you made.

I am sure I would never be able to try something like this race, but I am getting more interested in the longer events. The big problem is that I am too slow to be a real good XC racer, so why can I do any good at the longer stuff. I am probably more of a participator and not a contender, but that is just fine with me. But, I would be lying if I said I don’t want to ride faster and stronger. It seems that it is never enough.

This entry was posted in Bikes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

