Looking for some pain

Since we had the double birthday swim party scheduled on Sunday, I was not going to be able to make the trip up to Town Run for the last DINO race. I would have liked to make the trip, but that place is not one of my favorite places that I care if I race at. There are a ton of people to ride there all the time that show up to race. It is hard to hang with locals that know every bump on the kind of trail it is.

So, what did I do? I grabbed the SS and headed out to Ferdinand looking for some pain. Since I have not been on the bike much in the last few weeks, I really needed some tough SS time and there is no place better to find it. I took my time hoping to get more then 1 lap in, but after all was said and done, I didn’t really get much more then 1 lap. I did ride the road to the dam and back to add some distance, but it is not really like that is a great addition.

Overall I rode real well for the lack of miles lately. The hills added up and really hurt. I had decided to head in to the Kyana area to see the damage from the logging. As I hit the road on the fire tower trail, I though what the heck and headed up to hit the trail from the start and not the fire lane that I usually use. It was not long and I remembered why I tend to skip that section, but I did manage to climb the hard part of the first big hill.

The logging cleared out a huge section of the woods. I had a hard time following the trail and wondered around in one area for a little bit. I finally figured out where I was supposed to go and did a little work to try and make it more noticeable for anyone who would happen to head that way. Then I finished up my loop. I wanted to head out for more, but was running out of my allotted time and decided to head home. I didn’t really need more distance as the riding and trail work took a real toll on me.

This weekend I am heading to Waverly park for the next round of the KY MTB series. I hope I can find some strength by then and actually have a good showing, but I am not counting on it. I do plan on changing up my gearing a little and drop back down to a 32×20. I have a different crank set to put on there and figure it would be a good time to go back to the 32. If I want to go up from there, I thought about trying 32×18 insted of the 34×20.

In other news, it seems that I will be making 2 trips to Pisgah in October!! Yea!!! It will be good to get some miles in down there to get me ready for Double Dare no matter out big or small the days are. Any miles in those woods are well worth the effort.

This entry was posted in Bikes, Mountain Biking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

