A new year and some new looks

Even though I liked the jersey we had last year, this new jersey looks great too. I am looking forward to taking possession of the new uniforms. They will even have matching shorts. If you check in here very often at all I am sure you have seen the new 29 er SS. The Misfit will also be a new look for me at some races this year. I also have an upgrade to the Fuji I hope to complete, but not sure how soon.

Those are some of the more noticeable changes. Some other new looks as you may already know is some more endurance type races planed for the year. I have already done the Death March to some limited success. I am signed up for the Mohican 100 in the SS class, but that one makes me a little nervous yet.

I did think about riding the SS for PMBAR this year, but I have changed my mind on that. I don’t know if it could not have been done, but it is just not going to be done this year. I rode some of the harder trails out there and was pretty happy with the results. I am just not sure I am ready to do them all in the same day yet. That and all the gravel time for that race is not the best for one gear. Maybe I will think about it again next year.

One of the other big differences in looks will be more on where I will be. There are a lot of scheduling conflicts with the Dino series with some other things going on. I still plan on hitting a few of those races, but what seems to be working out a little more is the dates for the Kentucky series. I like this idea for a few different reasons. One being that I can hit all of the races in 4 hours or less with most of them 1.5 hours. That can not be said about the Dino races. The other thing that I really like about the KY races is they have a SS class. I prefer riding my SS, so it is safe to say that I prefer racing my SS. I will participate in the SS class for all of the Ky races I would attend.

I know this class is not as big as Cat 2, but down there we all start at the same time, so I get to see how I do against the Cat 2 racers. Last year I was pretty happy with that comparison. So much that I just might even show up at some Dino races on the SS. I do not think I will ever be in the top 5 of Cat 2 again, but I am fine with that. I do not put enough effort in, nor do I have enough extra time to put in so I can get there. It is just not at the top of the priority list.  It should be interesting to see how the year turns out.

This entry was posted in Bikes, Mountain Biking, Racing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

