Going to hell in a bucket, but at least I am enjoying the ride

I can see that a few people stopped by yesterday thinking that I would have a blog post from the race on Sunday. I am sorry to disappoint the few who stop by. Most of my other traffic is lead here from the link showing that I posted. I did attend a race this weekend, but not really sure if I raced or not.

Sunday was the last DINO XC race of the season. I am not sure what to think about this turn in the road, but it has been an interesting adventure. Before this weekend I was bummed that the Indiana season would be over and trying to figure out if I can hit all the remaining Kentucky races with a few other events thrown in for good measure. After this weekend I do not even feel like riding a bike again. I am ready to back out of several of the races or events that are on the horizon. My body is in a bad place and I hope I can figure out something soon to put that spark back and get that fire going again. This is the best time of year for riding and here I am wanting nothing to do with it.

Leading in to this weekend I have not had the time to do much riding during the week. I did get two SS races in and felt like I rode well in them. The weekend had some conflict with family events, but with the venue change from TRTP to SWW it was looking up. I am not a big fan of TRTP and even less of a fan of racing there. There are so many people that just show up to that race and they know the trails like the back of their hand. I was also excited to check out the new work at SWW and return to racing there like I did back in the 90’s.

The first conflict was that we had a wedding to go to on Saturday. This actually turned out to not be so bad for logistics and it was good to see some family members that we don’t get to see very often. The plan was to not get too crazy even though I was not overly worried about my finish. I have not been in the condition I would have liked for the whole season. My finishes are marginal at best so I am no where near anything worth worrying about in the overall points. I was just going to show up and ride my best and have some fun.

I really don’t know what the big down fall was for the weekend. It was probably more of a combination of a few things. I did have a few more beers then I planned on, but I didn’t go crazy. I drank a lot of water to offset some of the beer. I must have had a little extra because I did end up on the dance floor for a little while.  That normally does not happen until after several beverages. The other issue I had was I didn’t sleep worth a crap all night. I kept waking up then toss and turn trying to get comfortable enough to get some good sleep but it did not help. I swear at one point I looked at the clock 3 different times and it had the same time on it.

I eventually got up and started getting ready. The hotel had brisket and gravy on the bar so I could not pass it up. I didn’t over eat, but I thought I put enough fuel in there for the day. I finished loading up and getting things ready and took off to the race. It was a great commute being that it only took me 20 min. to get there. The parking lot was very empty and I was not sure why. After looking around a bit it hit me. Dino races start at 12:00 and not the 11:00 that the Kentucky races have been. I was not sure what to do, but figured it would be a good time to take a lap and check out the trail.

The trail was not bad at all. There is one long climb, but there was enough flat open sections that I thought would be good recovery for me. Another problem came when I was done riding too soon and had to sit around for a while waiting for the races to start. I got sun burned some and seemed to wear myself out even more just sitting around.

The start time finally came around and I was ready to get the show on the road. There seemed to be a good little back of guys in my age group.  I knew there was a long fire road section before we hit the woods, so I plan was to keep up, but take it easy and not blow up in the first 3/4 of a mile. When we hit the woods I was toward the back and this put me behind a rider that was taking some sections slower then I normally would and it was harder on me then it would have been if I could keep momentum. I probably waited too long to pass him thinking I would still blow myself up too soon, but it really didn’t matter. I got around that guy and put a big gap on him in no time.

I hit the first long and straight fire lane section and thought I would cruise and recover. I was not going faster then I thought I should, but there was no recovery feeling going on. It was not too far after we got back in the single track that my legs were really feeling it. I knew at this point that I was in for a very long day. I could not believe how shot they felt already. I just did what I could trying to keep moving forward and refueling as much as I could.

I started to get passed by several riders. The age groups behind me came up faster then normal. Eventually I started to feel a little better and was moving better, but still not fast enough. I continued this for the rest of the race. Passing guys when I could catch them and letting faster guys go by when the came up on me.

I ended up in 13th place for my age group and way down there in the overall. I was just happy that I could pull enough together and not get a DNF. But at this point I was completely drained. I put my body very deep in to trouble and knew it would take a while to dig back out of that hole. Yesterday my body still hurt all over. It was much worse then it has been for awhile. I am still at the point that I could care less if I get back on a bike any time soon. I hate that feeling! I love riding and with the weather cooling off I should be getting some quality time in on the bike.

I have no idea how long it will take or what will give me the motivation to get back out there and smile. There is no need for me to force myself to get on a bike before I am ready and not have any fun. This brings up a few different problems. There are a few other races that I would have liked to attend this year and some of those are not easy. If I have no urge to get on the bike, then my fitness will not be holding either. I am sure I will be eating more then I should and drinking even more then normal. I am sure that will not help me out, but it seems like the thing to do.

I have already determined to skip the next race on the list and do something more family oriented. After that I have a couple of things that I don’t want to miss. I have already signed up for the Breakdown. The plan is to finally do the 100 miles, but if I don’t feel it I could always back it off and just go to the cabin and back or something. The Pisgah Double Dare is penciled in on the schedule. I even have a team mate who will be in for one heck of an eye opener. Sign ups opened yesterday, so I need to make some plans and figure out how to make everything work for that if I am still going to do it.

I also need to decide if I am finally going to do the Race to the Canal that I have wanted to do since some time in the early 90’s when I first heard about it. There is also a 12 hour race there that I was thinking about racing solo on the SS. I was thinking about racing on a team, but when I saw the prices were the same and they are paying cash for the SS class, it seemed like I needed to so it solo and hope that no one shows up so I might be able to make some money, but probably not.

So, I think I will probably take this weekend off relaxing and trying to re-energize myself so I feel the need to get back on a bike as soon as possible. Then I can figure out what direction I want to point it and pedal.

This entry was posted in Bikes, Mountain Biking, Racing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

